Skip to content

Exodus Console Guide

Device Statuses

The device migration statuses are shown in the Status column of the device list.

In order to keep the interface as clear as possible, some statuses are grouped and further details are only visible in tooltips (by moving your mouse cursor over the statuses).

Note

The statuses order follows the migration process. Which means the more you go down the list, the more you'll see devices getting closer to being fully migrated. Failed statuses are shown last.

Here is the list of all the statuses with their tooltips.

Column Tooltip Description
Failed {Error description} The tooltip describes the failure reason. Contact the support if you need more information.
Getting ready Looking for User on Target EMM The device was found on the Source EMM. Exodus is now searching for an associated user on the Target EMM.
DEP sync ready The device is enrolled through Apple DEP and is waiting to be synced on Target EMM. See DEP Workflow for more information.
DEP sync started The device is enrolled through Apple DEP and is currently being synced on Target EMM. See DEP Workflow for more information.
Ready - The device is ready to start its migration: it has a valid user on the Target EMM and, if it's a DEP device, it has been synced on the Target EMM.
Started User notified The user has been notified by email to install and open the Companion App.
Companion App installed The installation of the Companion App has been detected on the device (iOS only).
Companion App launched The user has opened the Companion App at least once but has not initiated their device migration yet.
Un-enrolling - The device is being un-enrolled from the Source EMM.
Un-enrolled - The device has been un-enrolled from the Source EMM.
Re-enrolling - The device is re-enrolling on the Target EMM.
Re-enrolled - Congratulation! The device is re-enrolled on the Target EMM.

Device List & Actions

An Export button generate and let you download a .csv file of the device list at this moment. The export follow the filters parameters.

There are some actions you can perform on a device using the button available at the end of the device's row.

Note

Some of those actions can be performed on multiple devices at a time, using the same button available in the header of the devices list. Those actions are performed on the eligible filtered devices.

Start migration

This action starts the migration process of a device. It is only available on devices with Ready status. After performing this action, the status changes to Started.

Resend email

This action resends the migration notification email to the user associated to the device. It is only available if the user has already received the original email and has not pushed the Start Migration button on the Companion App yet (status Started).

Send notification

This action sends a notification to the device. It is only available during a migration and the Companion Application must have been installed and started at least once on the device. Depending on the migration state of the device, the content of the notification can change.

Note

On iOS, the user must allow the Companion Application to show notifications.

Note

This feature is not available for the macOS platform.

Notification content

Status Notification title Notification content
Started Start your migration Launch the Exodus Companion app to start migrating your device to your new EMM.
Un-enrolling Continue your migration Launch the Exodus Companion app to continue migrating your device to your new EMM.
Un-enrolled Finish your migration Launch the Exodus Companion app to finish migrating your device to your new EMM.
Re-enrolling

Automatic notification

Independently from any admin triggered notifications, the Exodus Companion App has a built-in timer which initiate these same notifications automatically on both Android and iOS.

Automatic notifications schedule is as follow:

  • Notification 1: t0 + 6 hours
  • Notification 2: t0 + 18 hours
  • Notification 3: t0 + 42 hours
  • Notification 4: t0 + 90 hours

Timer will reset for each status change or at the last triggered notification from the Console “Send Notification” device action.